What is an Aunt?

What is an Aunt?

the Definition online is: the sister of one’s father or mother or the wife of one’s uncle.

An “informal” definition the internet gives me is: an unrelated older woman friend, especially of a child.

Of course, we understand that family relationship. My mother had 5 siblings… 4 were female, they were my aunts. The brother got married, that woman became my aunt.

Aunt Hazel, Aunt Gerry, Aunt Orie, Aunt Dorie, Aunt Liz…

My father had 1 sibling… he got married his wife became my aunt: Aunt Mardell…. they got divorced…

Is she still my aunt?? I kinda think so, she is the mother of my cousins!

My final aunt on my mother’s side, died this weekend. She was over 90 years old. She was a devout Christian. She is definitely in heaven with all her (and my) family. An end of an era has been reached… there is no one left of that generation. 😦

I would like to believe I still have one aunt remaining, even though I do not have contact with my cousins’ mother, I still think of her as an aunt.

Do you have other dear friends your children addressed as “aunt” or “uncle?”

We have dear friends that my children did. In fact when our #2 daughter and their #3 son went to Camp Wanake together one summer, they told everyone they were cousins. 🙂

We have a dear friend in one church that our children called “aunt” after we left that community.

I think the title of aunt shouldn’t just be for those biological and in-law persons, but also for those “in-love” persons… people who are very important to your family and children.

I do have an aunt (in-law) that we see semi-regularly. When she is gone, there will be no aunts on Wayne’s side of the family either.

I AM an aunt to 11 human beings. I barely see any of them anymore. Which is sad. Some of them, I hardly ever knew in the first place because they did not come to many family gatherings and did not live nearby.

Aunts are important!! I loved all my aunts! I am certain that the party in heaven was just amazing this weekend. All the sisters/brothers (in-law or otherwise) were there to greet Aunt Orie. Dailey family parties were always amazing, they had to have been causing quite a ruckus now that they are all together again!!

Leave a comment